DID YOU KNOW?
- Hit and Run crashes are increasing in our country. Nationally, legislators in many states are looking at tougher laws regarding those that are killed in such crashes. However, in the State of Missouri we are still fighting this very epidemic.
- National statistics have shown pedestrians are 1.5 times more likely to be killed than vehicle occupants in a car crash on each trip. This averages to one crash-related pedestrian death every 1.6 hours. (AAA Foundation)
- One such incident occurred on April 12, 2016; the crash that killed my sister, Jameca Stanfield. While crossing the street, she was struck by a motorist traveling between 80-90 mph and left the scene.
Hit and Run crashes are increasing in the United States. Nationally, legislators in many states are seeking tougher laws and/or have passed legislation regarding those who are killed by H.A.R.Ds (Hit And Run Drivers) However, the State of Missouri is slow to pace in fighting this very epidemic.
According to information published by the CDC (Center for Disease Control and Prevention. In 2017, 5,977 pedestrians were killed in traffic crashes in the United States. .1 This averages to one crash-related pedestrian death every 88 minutes.
According to the National Highway of Transportation and Safety Nearly 1 of every 5 pedestrians killed in 2017 (19%) were struck in crashes that involved hit-and-run drivers. There were 99,004 hit-and-runs nationwide in 2016, equating to one quarter of all crashes — and only 15,851 resulted in charges.
Additionally, higher vehicle speeds increases both the likelihood of a pedestrian being struck by a car and the severity of injury.
According to AAA Foundation:
- Over the past 10 years, nearly 20 percent of all pedestrian deaths were caused by hit-and-run crashes, meanwhile just one percent of all driver fatalities in that same time period. (AAA, 4/2018)
- Approximately 6 in 10 fatally injured victims are pedestrians.
- 58 percent of fatal hit and run crashes occur on Friday, Saturday, or Sunday.
- 47 percent of fatal hit and run crashes occur between 9PM and 3AM.
- In the State of Missouri, if you leave the scene of an accident, the maximum penalty is a Felony D which carries a sentence of 4 years in prison and a $5,000 fine. Laws must be changed.